Homemade vegetable broth from juicing pulp

One of my biggest “issues” with juicing is that fresh produce can be pricy, so the cost of including juice into a daily diet can really add up. I made a goal to start saving all the pulp (I run the veggies through the juicer first and empty the pulp, then add any fruits and save that separately.) I hope to repurpose the pulp to help cut down on other food costs. Last week, I made a chili and dumped some of the veggie pulp in the chili to thicken it up, and that worked great. This time, I decided I’d see how it would do for vegetable broth. Saving the pulp from 5 juices allowed me to make about 8 cups of broth, saving me about $5-$6. Not bad! When saving pulp, it’s best not to keep in the fridge for more than 2-3 days max. I stored in a Mason jar in the freezer and added to the jar every day. By the end of the week, I had a packed jar, mostly carrot, kale, and celery.

Ingredients:

  • Veggie pulp (I used 1 quart mason jar, packed)
  • 1 medium yellow onion, chopped
  • Other whole vegetables or spices as you see fit (I just added black pepper)

Method:

  1. Add all ingredients into large stock pot. Cover with water about 2-3″ above pulp/veggie mixture.
  2. Simmer, stirring frequently, approx 45 minutes for flavors to release and soak into liquid.
  3. Strain out pulp.
  4. Store broth in refrigerator, or freeze if not being used within 2-3 days.

 

 

 

2 Comments on “Homemade vegetable broth from juicing pulp”

  1. madamesaslow says:

    Yum. I don’t have a juicer, but this makes me want one.

  2. […] from the juice you’ve been feasting on all day, is surprisingly satisfying. (Here’s a post I wrote before on the process of making homemade vegetable broth from juice […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers