Juice feast day 3

Day 3 today. Still going pretty strong although I had a few significant hunger pains throughout the day. My guy is still feeling pretty store and stiff. I woke up actually pretty cranky and lethargic today, with some aches and pains myself. My throat was the biggest, very sore with a bit of congestion. I think most of these things will be feeling better by tomorrow.

My weight today was 195, down 5 pounds since starting. Hurrah!

image

Juice #1:

  • 2 kiwi
  • 1/2 orange
  • 1/2 honeydew melon
  • 2 apples
  • 1/2 large fennel bulb and greens
  • 3 bokchoy stalks

image

Fennel is a crazy ingredient in juice. I was so skeptical at first, I’m not a big anise or licorice flavor fan and the thought of drinking it in juice is even less appealing. But it does something crazy when blended with fruits, it makes this crisp refreshing flavor which I’ve never had before. My boyfriend really liked it too.

Juice #2:

  • 1/4 large red cabbage
  • 1/2 pineapple
  • 2 celery
  • 3 carrots
  • 1/2 red pepper
  • 3 brussel sprouts

image

Red cabbage juice is very intriguing to me, one of those flavors that I don’t necessarily like or dislike and it intrigues me the more I drink it. (Salt and vinegar potato chips is another food that does it!) This juice though, blended with the other veggies, didn’t have that strong red cabbage flavor in it really. I downed this juice very quickly because I was super hungry and I felt extremely bloated and full after. I realized at this point I hadn’t had any water yet today even after 2 large juices. I keep bugging Bryan to drink more water to help flush out his joint and muscle pains, and here I am doing the same thing. I had about 16 oz of water and planned to drink a lot more after my dinner time juice.

We went to Target in between this juice and being in the food aisles was definitely tricky and I had significant hunger again at the store. But it didn’t feel like real hunger, just psychological hunger. There was some discussion about rice crispy treats, and I’ll definitely be working on a vegan version when this juice fast is done.

image

Juice #3:

  • approx 1 1/2 cup broccoli
  • 5 brussel sprouts
  • 5 asparagus stalks
  • 3 apples
  • handful parsley
  • lemon
  • 1/2 lime
  • 2 celery stalks

image

This juice came out extremely tasty and I was surprised at how prevalent the lime flavor was with just half a lime throughout the whole juice! Once I stated sipping in on it, my psychological hunger was gone. By this time of night, my crankiness has dissipated as has my sore throat and congestion. Now it’s time to get some serious water consumption going.

image

The broth is cooking as I write this… made from chopped celery, carrots, potato and onion, with some sprigs of fresh parsley. Added thyme, salt, and pepper, and of course garlic. Used the greens pulp from last night and the juice from tonight. It smells, like, heaven in here, and I can’t wait to get down on some broth.

As of right now, I feel that I will have zero problems carrying on until day 10. I feel tired but I am really not craving food all that much. The juice has been keeping me satisfied enough. I do think its important to point out that this is the first juice fast that I’ve done that I had this kind of complete confidence and lack of cravings (I’ve done about 5-6 juice fasts plus 3 Master Cleanse). I definitely am not craving any junk food, and the kinds of things I am craving are fresh salads or vegetable soup. I don’t think it’ll be too hard to maintain a really nice healthy diet when this is done. I managed to drink 2 jars full of water tonight (that’s equal to 8 cups, pounded it down) and definitely feel a lot better and less weighed down. I think the sugars in the juice combined with the toxins releasing do that unless you wash them out. I also had 2 cups of some herbal red tea with some ginger spice flavor that was fantastic and increased my mood and feeling of clean/lightness.

Spring cleaning for your body. Super score.

2 Comments on “Juice feast day 3”

  1. I hear the third day of a juice fast is the hardest.

    How many juices a day do you need to drink to stay nourished? My husband and I want to do a juice fast for 10 days in April.

    • I have been drinking about 100 oz total (depends on how you want to divide it but about 4-5 juices that are about 2-3 cups each do nicely.) The first day I find to be the easiest, it’s not hard to keep up willpower to get through one day without food. The second and third day can be tricky so it’s good to take a few days off from most obligations and just take time to rest and relax while your body detoxes. Good luck with your own juice fast! :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers