Juice feast day 6

I was down another pound this morning, 8 pounds total after the first 5 days. I now weigh 192. My lowest weight has been 185 so I’m very quickly creeping back up on that. This juice fast has really done the trick to get me back and motivated. I took some photos before hand so I could see just how much the belly bloat went down over the juice fast, as I’ve seen some pretty impressive pictures out there before. And even with my knowledge that a juice fast is cleansing and de-bloats, I still get skeptical that these people slim down so quickly.

But alas – here are my before and afters after just 5 days of juicing. In the first photo, I literally look like the Staypuft Marshmallow Man, and my skin seems to be slightly overinflated like a balloon (so bloated.) Even my arms are kind of fatter and won’t sit down flat by my sides! Haha, ridiculous in perspective. Notice around the muffin top area the difference in the bulge. Obviously I still have a long way to go, and I think my new weight loss goal for 2012 will be to reach 160 pounds. That’s 32 pounds down from where I am now. I think this could be possible in 3 months if I hunker down. That’ll put me at a grand total weight loss of 105 pounds.

PS – Does anyone else think that BMI measurements are very ridiculous? According to the scale, my BMI is just over 30 which makes me obese. And I definitely will admit to being overweight still, but obese??? Come on now…

image

Juice #1:

  • 1/4 head green cabbage
  • 1 each yellow, red, orange, green bell peppers
  • 1 jalapeno pepper
  • 1/4 large pineapple

image

This juice was peculiar. I liked it but didn’t love it. It left a weird, clean, airy flavor on my tongue after each sip. I think it’s the green cabbage and I don’t think I’ll be juicing it again (after I finish up what I have.) Red cabbage and bok choy have similar nutrients so I’ll stick with those.

I drank this juice while I did about an hour of yardwork and moving cinder blocks for my raised garden bed. I definitely did some bad lifting, my left hip and lower back has been all ‘snap, crackle, pop’ since then.

image

Juice #2:

  • 2 celery
  • 10 brussel sprouts
  • large handful green beans
  • 8 asparagus
  • cucumber
  • 3 bokchoy stalks
  • 2 green apples

image

I absolutely love a sour juice, so doing all greens with a couple granny smith apples is a dream come true for my taste buds. I drank this juice before I sat down to do some stretching and yoga to attempt to help my hip. Unfortunately, it just became more aggravated, so I realized it’s just time to let it rest for the day.

image

Juice #3:

  • 1/4 pineapple
  • 1 pear
  • 2 kiwi
  • 8 strawberries
  • 1 orange
  • 1 apple
  • 10 brussel sprouts
  • 10 asparagus stalks

image

Even though I know my juices need to be more vegetable heavy, I decided to make this fruit heavy juice with just a few greens. I had a sweet tooth, and haven’t had many sweet juices the past couple days. Strawberry juice is so yummy!! And the color so pretty. :)

image

Juice #4:

  • 5 carrots
  • 2 celery
  • 5 asparagus
  • handful parsley
  • 6 brussel sprouts
  • chunk of ginger
  • 2 oranges

image

Ahhh, the classic combo of carrot ginger. Since carrots and beets are almost as high in sugar as fruit, this juice was also a little fruit heavy. Tomorrow I need to go to the store to buy more greens as I went through them way too quickly over the past 3 days. I have so much fruit left! I definitely tipped the scale wrong on that one (fruits vs. vegetables.) Oh well, at least that’s not a bad thing!

Tomorrow starts day 7. I do feel like my body maybe has made the most it can out of a juice feast and I might be ready to start getting back to food on day 8, instead of day 11. This is simply because my muscles and even heart and lungs are dying to be pumped and I really want to go for a hard bike ride or jog and get to the gym to lift weights. But on a juice fast, that’s just too tiring and you can’t recover your muscle correctly. I think my “reset” is just about finished and I can take it slow on a mostly raw food diet with plenty of fresh juice for a couple weeks to continue the detox and nutrient influx.

I will say that I’m absolutely psyched at how my skin is glowing right now. Even the skin on my body, not just the skin on my face seems radiant. And this is a big deal for me, as I’ve struggled with acne problems for most of my teenage and adult life so far. It seems that I don’t really have oily skin that causes the breakouts, it’s just an excess in toxins leeching out my pores. Toxins be gone!

11 Comments on “Juice feast day 6”

  1. madamesaslow says:

    What kind of jucier do you use?

    • It’s a L’Equip Mini juicer… it works great except for on greens. Once I get my Vitamix, I’ll probably just juice completely to remove most fiber for easier absorption, then blend the greens in after in the Vitamix.

  2. Wow girl you are so brave! Putting pictures of myself on the blogosphere scares me to death :) You look great!

    I think you’re doing an amazing job. I’m curuious to see how you do after adding solid food back in. I’m also curious to hear what you’re going to eat first! If it were me, I think I’d start with maybe adding some raw egg to the juice….but I don’t know.

    • Haha, well thank you! I don’t mind, it’s such a progress from where i was at 265 pounds, I don’t mind showing a little ;)

      I started eating solid foods again yesterday (I’ll be posting about it later.) Started with an entirely raw salad, even the dressing, and had brown rice vegetable sushi for dinner. My jaw got so tired eating this big arugula salad haha.

  3. What a change lady! The results are very impressive. I know you feel amazing too :) I also am noticing color come back into my skin, what a beautiful experience.

    I ate organic, locally raised beef yesterday, it was cooked fairly raw, but I think it (or the brown rice) was a bit too much. I’m not feeling as on top of my game today. But we too ran out of veggies to juice so our juice today was less than it has been…that could be part of it as well. Off to the store to get more produce. I can see juicing as a normal routine for me though, it feels amazing!

    • Thank you so much! The whole change in our skin is definitely very encouraging, it’s like you can actually see the living nutrients working, it’s amazing. I need to get back to the store as well. I love having fresh juice in my daily routine! :)

  4. I agree that BMI measurements are ridiculous. At least, the generalized equation is ridiculous. It doesn’t take into account any of your personal attributes like your bone structure, etc. And it’s defeating. It’s defeating to make so much progress and than have some archaic system tell you “hey, no, you’re obese, actually.” Screw that. I think you’re doing a fantastic job and I envy your dedication!

  5. Vanessa says:

    Those juices all look delicious! Congrats on the recent weight loss – looking good!

  6. Jessica Jones says:

    I’m enjoying your blog! Tomorrow will be day 6 for me. It’s good to read about someone else’s journey, really encourages me! My fast is 30 days though…but I’ll listen to my body and see if it’s telling me different.

    I did want to tell you about a fabulous workout! I read you like Yoga, and I put the one you mentioned in a previous post in my netflix queue and I can’t wait to try it, but have you heard of Callanetics? Seriously it will slim you down!! Sadly it’s not on netflix though. It’s kind of a mix between yoga and Pilates. Love it, just thought I’d share.

    • Thanks, I’m glad you like reading! Congratulations on starting your own journey, and good luck to reaching the 30 days. If that’s your goal, you can do it! Thanks for the tip on Callanetics – I’ll definitely be looking into it later on. Take care!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers