There comes a time in every healthy girl’s life that she has to fry something for her man: Vegan buffalo seitan

In passing, I mentioned to my boyfriend that I used to make fried buffalo seitan. Immediately, he said he wanted it. I haven’t made it in probably almost 2 years because, with the very high unhealthy fat and sodium content, it was something I decided I needed to remove from my cooking repertoire. But, as a special treat, I broke out the recipe last night with a few changes. I nixed the flour and subbed in whole wheat flour with a sprinkle of ground flax seed. And when I may have put these buffalo seitan bits on a pizza or sandwich with added fats and sodium, this time, I served with just plain steamed veggies.

So what is seitan anyway? Seitan is made from wheat gluten, which is the main protein of wheat. The wheat flour dough is stripped of its starch, and the elastic, gummy, sticky stuff that’s left is the gluten. Of course, seitan isn’t a good meat substitute for those of us who may have celiacs or a gluten intolerance… but for someone who has a bit of trouble digesting soy and no trouble with wheat, like myself, seitan is a great alternative. Generally, I don’t use meat substitutes, just because I feel the best when I concentrate on vegetables, whole grains, nuts, and beans. Seitan is fairly processed down, but it does offer a good hit of protein: 21 g of protein in one serving, with just 120 calories and 2 g of fat.

Some notes on the ingredients…

Oil: Olive oil is technically said to be the “healthiest” but the bottom line is that you’re using 100% fat no matter what. I chose canola for my budget’s sake. Try to find organic, and look for brands that avoid sourcing GMO! I used Whole Food’s 365.

Seitan: I used West Soy brand strips. The bigger the chunks you can get the better, but the little fried buffalo bits are also quite delicious.

Hot Sauce: Frank’s Red Hot is commonly used in buffalo sauce, but I used all-natural cayenne pepper hot sauce from The Scoville Food Institute. The sauce I used did not contain any garlic, but that is an ingredient in the Frank’s Red Hot. I felt it really benefited the sauce to add some fresh garlic in.

 

 

Ingredients:

  • Oil for frying
  • 8 oz seitan
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 4 Tbsp ground flax seed
  • 2 cups almond milk (or milk substitute of your choice)
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 cup Earth Balance
  • 1/4 cup hot sauce
  • 1 Tbsp fresh minced garlic (optional)

Method:

  1. Open seitan, drain extra water. Wrap tightly in paper towels and press out extra moisture.
  2. Fill pan 1/4″ – 1/2″ with oil and heat over medium flame.
  3. Pour milk substitute into a bowl.
  4. Combine whole wheat flour and flax seed in second bowl.
  5. Dredge seitan in milk, then flour mixture, then back in milk.
  6. Place seitan carefully into hot oil, making sure to be careful for splash back.
  7. Fry seitan until breading is golden brown and crispy, flipping halfway through for even cooking.
  8. Drain seitan thoroughly on paper bags or paper towels. Press excess oil out with paper towels.
  9. Melt Earth Balance in a small sauce pan over medium low heat.
  10. Whisk in hot sauce and garlic.
  11. Toss seitan chunks in buffalo sauce. Enjoy!

 

image

Other seitan recipe posts you might like:

38. slowcooker chick’n seitan. (makegreat.wordpress.com)

Top Chef Wednesday: Enchiladas with Onion & Seitan (suburbanvegan.com)

Pesto Infused Rice with Seitan (foodfitnessfreshair.com)

6 Comments on “There comes a time in every healthy girl’s life that she has to fry something for her man: Vegan buffalo seitan”

  1. This sounds delicious. I wanted to try something like this on Superbowl Sunday but have never cooked with seitan so I didn’t bother. I have a hunch that my bf would love this. I will definitely be trying this as a weekend treat some time soon! Thanks for posting it!

  2. […] pièce de résistance of the weekend was my first rendez-vous with seitan. I borrowed this recipe because I was incredibly intrigued and I knew my boyfriend would approve. He loves buffalo wings […]

  3. This was awesome! I made it last night and just posted about it. My boyfriend loved it, just as I suspected. Thanks again for posting it!

  4. […] of her journey to a healthier life through her lifestyle change. I recently tried her delicious buffalo seitan recipe  (which I HIGHLY recommend) and am in awe of her before & after pictures. Very […]

  5. I really enjoy your blog and have nominated you for Liebster Blog Award! http://thisismyeverest.wordpress.com/2012/02/13/liebster-blog-award/

  6. […] I was going to make beer battered seitan, then I remember how good this recipe is, then I considered making a buffalo seitan wrap…but then I stumbled upon something that […]


Leave a Reply

