Homemade ‘steak’ sauce, and how I like my seitan (juicy and full of flavor).

Seitan is a nice addition to a veggie diet since it’s packed with protein (approx 25 g in a 4 oz serving). It’s made entirely from wheat gluten, which is the protein in wheat that makes it stretchy/sticky. I’m not crazy about the texture, I find it to be a little dry and rubbery, and it doesn’t absorb flavor that well. When I decide I want to have it, I always make sure to cook it in a way that makes it juicier and more tender. My favorite way to prepare it simmering on the stovetop, allowing the sauce to cook down and absorb into the seitan. The sauce I used tonight was a steak sauce recipe with simple common ingredients from allrecipes.com.

Tender seitan with homemade “steak” sauce

Ingredients:

Sauce:

  • 8 oz seitan cubes or strips
  • 1/3 cup vegetable broth
  • 1 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 2 Tbsp yellow mustard
  • 2 Tbsp vegan Worcestershire sauce (Amy’s Organics makes a great one)
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • a few drops hot sauce of your choice
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper

Method:

  1. Whisk together all ingredients for sauce (everything except vegetable broth and seitan).
  2. In a medium sauce pan, add vegetable broth, sauce, and seitan.
  3. Cook over medium-medium low heat, stirring occassionally to prevent burning (sauce is high in sugar content.)
  4. Seitan is done when all sauce is cooked down, approx 30-35 minutes.

 

Before I started cooking the seitan, I threw some wild rice in the rice cooker. I steamed butternut squash and spinach on top to make a complete meal!

 

 

One Comment on “Homemade ‘steak’ sauce, and how I like my seitan (juicy and full of flavor).”

  1. I’ve never tried seitan before… This post, however, intrigues me…


Leave a Reply

