Juice feast day 2 with recipes

image

Juice #1:

  • 5 small juicing oranges
  • 3 bokchoy stalks with greens
  • 1 carrot

image

This juice was a fantastic start to the day. The oranges are a great thing to wake up to and a good dose of Vitamin C of course (which helps because I’m also fighting a slight case of mono). I chased it with 32 oz of water again, and felt sooo full after. At this point, even if I had been craving food, I don’t think I could have fit any! I went for a walk after this juice (about 3.5 miles.) I had to stop at the mall to pee (about halfway home, I just couldn’t make it the whole way). I made a quick detour to Old Navy to grab a new pair of workout pants, and by the time I was done had to pee again. Breaking the seal works the same way with juicing as it does with alcohol for me, ha! By the time I got home, I felt extremely hungry with a little hunger pain. I normally grab a handful of raw cashews and a big jug of water after getting back from a long walk, and I almost did this again, out of habit. But I stopped myself and made a juice instead. It was pretty tricky to not bite into one of these ripe organic strawberries, but I held fast still… even with a little regret.

image

Juice #2:

  • 1 pint strawberries
  • 8 stalks celery

image

I drank this afternoon juice while helping my brother move a few boxes and go through a few things. I felt extremely fatigued as I was doing this, and sipping the juice was all I could do to keep from falling over to be honest. I do think walking as far as I did while on a juice fast and also fighting mono was a bad idea today. Day 2 traditionally has been the most fatigue, muscle cramp, detox symptom filled day every time I do a detox of any kind. This is when a lot of the toxins have really begun to start stirring up, causing these symptoms. I should have taken it extra easy today, but I pushed through.

image

Juice #3:

  • 1/4 large beet (these beets were HUGE and local – yay! but substitute 2 small beets if you have the small tennis ball sized beets)
  • 4 celery stalks
  • 5 brussel sprouts
  • 4 carrots
  • 1/2 lemon with peel
  • 1 apple
  • chunk of ginger according to taste

I must have forgot to photo the end result of this juice, I think it made about 3 cups also. I downed it so quickly, I was feeling so hungry and fatigued after my walk and helping my brother move stuff. I remember thinking how filling it is when you put beets and carrots together. Although, overall, I have to admit I’m not a very big fan of beet juice. During a cleanse, I do consume a lot of it because it’s great for cleansing. PS- Beet juice is ridiculously red. It’s one of the most potent dyes and it dyes… everything. Remember when you use the bathroom next, ha.

 

After our 3rd juice, we made broth again using the leftover vegetable pulp from the previous juice, plus celery, onions, potatoes, salt, pepper, garlic, and thyme. I didn’t like the broth made with the beet pulp as much as without. I will leave it out next time. It was still very satisfying and filling for a ‘dinner soup’ and helped break up the juice monotony. I find that to be one of the biggest challenges with juicing, crafting completely different flavors. So I’m challenging myself to do so. We made the next one kind of late, around 11pm.

 

image

Juice #4:

  • 1/2 canteloupe
  • 10 asparagus stalks
  • 3 brussel sprouts
  • approx 2 cups broccoli
  • 3 bokchoy stalks

image

This juice produced the most magnificent green color! It tasted amazing too. All of the different greens blended together make for a very good combination, I forgot how much I like juices like that. I really like all these greens combined with lime and green apple for a sour flavor too… I have to get some green apples next time I go to the store. My pee after I had this juice was very very dark and smelled toxic. It definitely was working. I did have a couple cleansing trips to the bathroom, and a bit of muscle fatigue and sore throat. My guy also said he had a bunch of muscle soreness. This happens usually between the second and third day of juicing as the living detoxifying juice particles work their way into your joints and muscles and begin to release toxins. This is one of the reasons why its so important to keep drinking water! Drink lots of water on a juice fast! Besides helping to clear you out, it will also keep you satiated and feeling fuller longer.

One Comment on “Juice feast day 2 with recipes”

  1. […] flaxseed on my oatmeal. I’m pretty much the worst vegan. I feel especially bad when I see posts like this where the fruit and veggies look so good but I can’t pinpoint why I’ve stopped trying. […]


Leave a Reply

