Juice feast day 4 (including a “V17” juice!)

Down another pound today, 6 pounds total in the first 3 days.

I woke up with a bit of a headache today, and I think it’s due to the fact that I really didn’t drink enough juice yesterday (only 3 juices). I also didn’t drink enough water overall, although I tried to make up for it before bed. That led to me getting up a lot to pee, so the headache could also have been from a lack of good rest. However, despite the slight headache, I am starting to feel that boost in clarity and mental energy that I remember comes after the detox symptoms start to subside.

image

Juice #1:

  • 5 small apples
  • 3 kiwis
  • 1/2 large bulb fennel

image

I had this juice after an hour massage and it was crisp, clean, light and refreshing. It was very sweet and almost a little sour. I normally wouldn’t have made a juice like this without any greens but I didn’t have anything on hang today and I was meeting someone to go grocery shopping later on.

The massage, by the way, was fantastic. I felt very invigorated, loose, and refreshed after. I took a guess at timing the massage on day 4 because I figured the initial release of toxins is usually done during a juice fast by day 3. Massage helps stimulate further detoxification of our body tissues, so this would help get some deeper toxins out which the juicing can help continue flush through. I might try acupuncture later this week or next as I heard its also supposed to be very cleansing. I just need to remember to be drinking a WAY lot more water. Gah! I’m usually so good at this.

image

Juice #2:

“V17”

  • 1 zucchini
  • 1 cucumber
  • 5 small tomatoes
  • 1/4 head red cabbage
  • 1 red pepper
  • 5 small brussel sprouts
  • 2 radishes
  • jalapeno pepper
  • serrano pepper
  • large handful green beans
  • handful parsley
  • approx 1 1/2 cups broccoli
  • handful bean sprouts
  • 2 bokchoy stalks
  • 2 celery stalks
  • chunk of horseradish (approx 3/4″ x 2″)
  • chunk of ginger (approx 1/2″ x 1″)

image

Okay, let me explain the massive quantity of this juice. After not juicing all day, except for one small one this afternoon, I was feeling very very hungry. The temperature also dropped quite a bit today from the unseasonably warm summerlike weather we had last week. It’s only about 32 degrees out now. As I’ve been juicing for the past few days, my body temperature has also been on the low side. This happens because one of the ways our body heats up is due to toxins and the digestive process. Digestion takes energy, energy is heat. Without heavy digestion, our body temperature remains on the low side.

Anyway, I was feeling hungry and was even doubting I’d make it, so I figured a HUGE juice with some spice and substance was the way to go for dinner. This produced about 64 oz, which would be the equivalent of about 3 juices I should have had by now. This huge serving plus the one from earlier brings me to a good solid 4 juices for the day. Granted, it’ll take me an hour or two to actually get all this juice down but it’s worth it!

NOTE: This juice, as my Dad would have said, WILL put hair on your chest. Not for the meak stomached or sweet tongued. It’s a very heavy, dense flavor with a lot of spice from the hot peppers. Follow this recipe and divide into 2 or 3 for normal size servings during a juice fast, or this recipe could make about 6-8 cups of juice if used to supplement a meal.

It cost me about $110 to stock up for the next 5 days for just me, but I’m pretty sure I bought too much and will end up with a huge pot of vegetable soup and probably some frozen fruit after. I just wanted to ensure that I  had enough variety to keep me interested in juicing until the end. Like I mentioned yesterday, I find that one of the most difficult parts of juicing is that eventually they all either taste sweet like fruit or earthy like vegetables. The challenge is to find nice blends that offer variety. With a fully stocked fridge and pantry of fruit, I’ll be able to cater to my tastes and then use the leftovers for regular cooking after. Again, it sounds like a lot to spend, $20 a day on juicing. But the benefits are worth it!

5 Comments on “Juice feast day 4 (including a “V17” juice!)”

  1. I am really enjoying follow your journey here. I am gearing up for a juice fast myself, and I appreciate you being the guinea pig ! 🙂

    • Thanks! Happy to be the guinea pig, haha. Let me know if you have any questions about things I may not have written about. I’m an open book, but just sometimes a bit forgetful in remembering to write everything down. 🙂

  2. […] Juice feast day 4 (including a “V17″ juice!) (iusedtobefatter.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Awesome post! We just started juicing too 🙂 Loving it!


Leave a Reply

