Juice feast day 5: feeling AMAZING!

As I was just writing the subject for the post, I realized that I’ve completed five full days of juicing! Huzzah!

Now here’s the crazy part…

For the past few days, the posts have talked about a bit of fatigue, crankiness, muscle aches, sore throat, headache, etc. My breath has stunk and my pee has stunk and the trips to the bathroom have been less than ideal. Detox symptoms. So if you’ve been reading along and wondering why anyone would “starve” themselves for days just to feel like crap… I’m happy to report that TODAY was the reason why.

I feel energized, uplifted, clean, light. My mental focus is extremely clear. I haven’t had one single hunger pain or craving today at all. I even watched my roommate cook a veggie burger and it didn’t phase me one small bit. I’ve had no headaches, no pains, no aches. I had a regular bathroom trip this morning. (Yes, there’s still solids to come out after 5 days of juicing!)ย The white detox “fuzz” that comes out on the tongue during the first few days has lessened. I never wear deodorant, and the sweat from today’s walk was significantly less toxic smelling than previous days. I had the energy to walk about 5 miles today too and didn’t feel incredibly wiped or exhausted afterwards. I will even have enough energy to do yoga tonight which I haven’t felt like doing in a few days. I’ll probably do the “Crunch: Candlelight Yoga” from Netflix Watch Instantly. It’s a very easy, relaxing 45 minute routine that just helps stretch out the kinks from the day, nothing too intense.

And these are the feelings that make the effort worth it.

Beyond the physical changes that I’ve experience over the past few days, a juice fast or other cleansing program can prove to be emotionally lifting as well. It’s a reaffirmation to your will power and allows you to feel a great sense of accomplishment that you’re doing something for yourself. It makes you feel like you can do anything. (And right now, I definitely feel like I could do anything that I set my mind to… and I’m only halfway through!) And more over, focusing on all of these good feelings and the reasons behind why I feel them will help me stay motivated after the fast is through. I’ve been literally flooding every inch of my body, every cell, with this insanely nourishing substance. The thought of taking away this nourishment makes me sad! The idea of refined oils or refined sugars or a huge meal just doesn’t interest me right now. The detox symptoms proved that there was some icky stuff I was holding on to, which would only contribute to a sluggish, fatigued, unhappy existence. Moving forward, I’ll be able to feel clean and ready to stay on track with healthy eating and that renewed energy will help me with my physical fitness goals too. It’s so hard to move off the couch when you’re being plagued with aches and pains and tiredness. Don’t get me wrong, this sense of renewal and re-invigoration is something you have to work to maintain, and eventually everyone starts to slip on their diet and lifestyle. I know I’ll do it. But that is why a “reset” or “reboot” is so necessary, at least for me. It helps start fresh and helps you get rid of cravings. A palette cleanser. A mind cleanser. And pretty soon you find yourself noticing that you honestly do not want those foods that contribute to that overall decrease in health, and you’ll automatically have adapted this healthier diet. Over the past 3 years since I’ve begun my journey to wellness, I’ve had dozens of time where I considered the foods I was eating to be very unhealthy and I was “off the wagon.” Juice fasting has proved to be the best way for me to get back on track, and I’m finding now that the periods of time when I’m “off the wagon” are growing fewer and far between as my body grows a distaste for the foods that harm and craves the nourishment of fresh organic whole foods. The juice fast also creates awareness about the amount of food our body really needs to maintain, and helps shrink our stomachs back to their intended size. In the long run, this helps with natural portion control too.

Today also marked the 7 pound down mark. (From 200 pounds to 193 pounds.)

image

Juice #1:

  • 1 pear
  • 1 orange
  • 6 strawberries
  • 15 asparagus stalks
  • 1 cucumber

image

Clean, light, refreshing. Not too sweet.

image

Juice #2:

  • 2 celery stalks
  • 1/4 head cabbage
  • 2 carrots
  • 1 green pepper
  • 5 brussel sprouts
  • 2 bokchoy stalks
  • large handful bean sprouts
  • 1 apple
  • 1/2 lemon

image

Mmm.. I loved the color and taste of this juice. As the days of juicing goes on, I’m definitely finding myself being more satiated by the heavy vegetable juices and less fruit juice.

image

Juice #3:

  • large handful green beans
  • approx 2 cups broccoli
  • 2 bokchoy stalks
  • 3 celery stalks
  • 3 radishes
  • 5 asparagus
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 2 carrots
  • apple
  • pear
  • chunk of ginger
  • 4 turmeric root nubs

image

This juice was insane. I can only describe the flavor as ‘deep’. I guess maybe it was a bit earthy too. The turmeric root is definitely a nice way to add a different flavor into juicing. I also like adding a tomato or two because that adds a different bite. I do think that I liked the apple and pear in this to add a little contrast to the flavor overall, but instead, could maybe just do a couple extra carrots instead to nix the fruit. I bought so much fruit to finish out the fast and now I’m not even craving it! I’ll probably end up cutting a bunch of it up and freezing it for smoothies instead and as the days go on, beginning to filter on over to more entirely vegetable juices.

In case you were wondering, I am definitely MISSING some things from my juicing regiment. I wish I could incorporate more kale, spinach, watercress, romaine, etc. However, my juicer is a cheap juicer (I don’t even think it has a brand to be honest – ha!) and it does a good job for anything except leafy greens. For some reason it spits juice everywhere when it tries to process leafy greens. This is why you’ll find me using broccoli, brussel sprouts, bok choy, and asparagus as my main sources of greens. With a better juicer, I would have at least a good handful or two of leafy greens in each juice, and would definitely recommend it as part of a juice cleanse.

image

Needed a new shot to use on my blog, etc – and just got a new apron at Target (my first real apron as an adult, on sale for $7 – score!) This was before I started prepping for the first juice of the day.

image

It was nice to see some sunshine and flowers on the trees even though the weather was a bit chillier today.

image

And then I found this pie, with the strangest set of leftovers I’ve seen in a while. It reminded me of the Cookie Monster’s chocolate chip cookie. “C” is for… pie???

6 Comments on “Juice feast day 5: feeling AMAZING!”

  1. Great post! My mom and I used to do fasting and cleansing once a year, and for some reason I fell off the wagon. It’s amazing how your health gets pushed to the bottom of the priority list. I am so glad that you are feeling amazing today. I remember that super clean, light energetic feeling during fasting. Your mind is so clear! How can that not be a priority ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m buying a juicer this week! I’m so excited. I’m going to be using a lot of your recipes. I really appreciate you spelling them out.

    • Thanks for the words of encouragement! I’m glad that you’re enjoying following along with my cleanse. I’m most excited that I’ve finally written down some of these feelings so the next time I’m feeling like I can’t set myself straight, I’ll have it straight from my own mouth what I have to look forward to if I do.

      What kind of juicer are you buying?

  2. I can relate to your feelings while juicing. It’s amazing, even if you eat a normally healthy diet, how much our bodies hold on to. I heard a lot is stored up in our fat cells too, which probably is why I am experiencing my detox symptoms. I am so grateful to find someone else on the same journey! I was just talking to my husband about poor food choices this morning and both of us don’t have cravings for sweets anymore. He still craves salt a lot, but what a wonderful feeling to NOT crave what made us get to this place in the first place! Love the new apron btw.

    We have a crappy juicer too, it’s a Juiceman 2 that we got at a garage sale. We do notice we have to juice the pulp because there is still so much left over. Greens do ok in ours, but I think the 2nd round of juicing helps because the juicer has already shredded the greens the first time. I love putting cilantro and parsley in our juices, they are super high in Chlorophyll which I heard was great when juicing. ๐Ÿ™‚ Have you tried re-juicing your pulp?

    Thanks for sharing your adventure with us!

    • It really IS amazing, even on a clean diet, what might get left behind that needs to be cleansed. Not to mention our environment is full of toxins as well, so no matter how clean we eat, our cells will eventually need a sweeping. It’s awesome to have someone to follow along with! By the way, I’m a salt fiend and have noticed a decrease in cravings since starting the juice fast. It’s my one huge downfall that sometimes I don’t even try to correct – too much salt! I’ve never rejuiced my pulp, I boil it with potatoes, onion, and herbs to create vegetable broth. I strain that well, and eat the broth nice and hot and using a spoon, which makes for a nice change from drinking from a jar all day.

      • That’s a wonderful idea with your pulp! I’ve been meaning to ask, have you seen Hungry for Change yet? They are offering it free until the end of the month, only a couple days left…if you haven’t seen it I recommend it a lot. Amazing movie.

      • I think I heard the title of the movie in passing with someone, I’ll do a search and watch it later on today. Thanks for the tip!


Leave a Reply

